News

Bow Down: Selena Gomez Is the Official Queen of Instagram

admin994 views
Spread the love

Selena Gomez is officially the queen of Instagram. The popular social media platform released its 2016 Year in Review on Thursday and, according to the stats, Gomez’s dominance is even more widespread than we could have ever imagined.

In addition to sweeping the most-liked photo AND video categories, with a whopping 103 million followers, the 24-year-old pop star is also Instagram’s most-followed celebrity—by a long shot. Oh yeah, she gained the most followers (50 million) this year too.

VIDEO: Selena Gomez’s Changing Looks

 

The rest of most-followed field features the usual cast of characters. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) took the second spot with 93.9 million followers, while Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) came in third with 90.2 million. Beyoncé (@beyonce) and Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) were awarded fourth and fifth positions, with 89.2 million and 88.2 million followers respectively.

Eight of the top 10 most-liked celebrity photos belong to Gomez. Her iconic Coca Cola ad (above), which has garnered 5.9 million likes, was the winner, followed by a caption-less swimsuit photo from May that has raked in 4 million likes.

A photo posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 22, 2016 at 11:56am PDT

The other two spots were taken by Portuguese soccer star Cristiano Ronaldo’s ‘grams of himself with the 2016 Euro Cup trophy.

I always dream to win this title ❤️❤️❤️🔝🔝🔝👍👍

A photo posted by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on Jul 10, 2016 at 11:59pm PDT

Te amo❤️❤️🔝

A photo posted by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on Jul 11, 2016 at 2:14am PDT

Gomez’s video that received the most likes was the one of her dancing with a little fan named Audrey, who suffers from Diamond Blackfan Anemia.

Finally got to meet this sweetheart -she owned it fully

A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 22, 2016 at 7:57pm PDT

RELATED: Here Are Selena Gomez’s Tricks to Instagram Success

The social media app’s 2016 analysis is rich with plenty more interesting facts. Scroll down for more details and highlights:

    Top hashtag: #love

    Most-used Emoji:

    1. :heart:
    2. :heart_eyes:
    3. :joy:
    4. :kissing_heart:
    5. :two_hearts:

    Most-used Instagram Filters:

    1. Clarendon
    2. Gingham
    3. Juno
    4. Lark
    5. Moon

    Celebrities who gained the most followers in 2016:

    1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – Gained more than 50 million followers.
    2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – Gained more than 42 million followers.
    3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – Gained more than 40 million followers.
    4. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – Gained more than 38 million followers.
    5. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – Gained more than 37 million followers.
    6. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – Gained more than 36 million followers.
    7. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) – Gained more than 36 million followers.
    8. Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson (@therock) – Gained more than 35 million followers.
    9. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) – Gained more than 29 million followers.
    10. Lionel Messi (@leomessi) – Gained more than 29 million followers.

    Most-liked celebrity videos of 2016:

    1. Selena Gomez:

    Finally got to meet this sweetheart -she owned it fully

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 22, 2016 at 7:57pm PDT

    2. Selena Gomez:

    hostess vibes. Happy 4th everyone!

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jul 4, 2016 at 8:26pm PDT

    3. Leo Messi:

    Primeros pasos de matu 😍😍😍

    A video posted by Leo Messi (@leomessi) on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:12am PDT

    4. Selena Gomez:

    Happy national donut day. Love myself and @tmarie247

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 3, 2016 at 3:22pm PDT

    5. Selena Gomez:

    Put down the weapons you fight with- #KillEmWithKindness video TOMORROW! 💋

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 5, 2016 at 9:03am PDT

    6. Taylor Swift

    My cats are always coming up with new, innovative ways to sit around.

    A video posted by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on Jan 9, 2016 at 3:44pm PST

    7. Selena Gomez:

    Drama tonight in Toronto 📸 ya can follow @Pantene #RevivalTour

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on May 25, 2016 at 6:11pm PDT

    8. Selena Gomez:

    snap//selenagomez 👻 #ad

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Jun 8, 2016 at 7:03pm PDT

    9. Kim Kardashian West:

    👶🏾😍👼🏾

    A video posted by Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) on Aug 6, 2016 at 8:35pm PDT

    10. Selena Gomez:

    -I had one last week tho

    A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Mar 12, 2016 at 5:54pm PST

      Leave a Response